Lost Worlds: Vanished Lives

Lost Worlds: Vanished Lives is a four-part BBC documentary series written and presented by David Attenborough, about the discovery of fossils. In this series, David Attenborough travels the globe to visit the world's most famous fossil sites, and he attempts to show how life evolved in Earth's distant past with the help of expert palaeontologists, fossil hunters and modern animation techniques. (from

Episode 1 - Magic in the Rocks

Episode 1 - Magic in the Rocks
A picture of prehistoric life emerges, as Attenborough unearths several major clues in the form of fossilized remains that were undiscovered for millennia.

Episode 2 - Putting Flesh on Bone
Using the latest evidence, scientists reconstruct a pterodactyl in the form of a model aircraft - to see if such a beast could indeed have flown.

Episode 3 - Dinosaur
Attenborough visits several museums of natural history. With the aid of dinosaur skeletons, he demonstrates how they existed in real life, and speculates about the reasons for their sudden demise.

Episode 4 - The Rare Glimpses
Four famous locations that have the most suitable conditions for fossilisation are explored. Not only are common animals preserved, but also plants and other, seldom-seen creatures.

Related Links
Life on Earth
This is a BBC nature documentary series, consisting of thirteen episodes (each of around 55 minutes' duration), about a study of the evolution of life on the planet.
Museum of Life
This is a BBC documentary series hosted by Jimmy Doherty, taking a look behind the scenes at the British Museum of Natural History.
How to Build a Dinosaur
This is a BBC documentary presented by Dr. Alice Roberts, finding out how the experts put dinosaur skeletons back together.
Searching for Lost Worlds
This is a Discovery Channel documentary series, telling some of great expeditions from the late 19th century to the early 20th century.