Art of the Western World

Art of the Western World is a documentary series presented by Michael Wood, exploring magnificent masterpieces of the Western world in their cultural and historical settings. The series consists of eighteen episodes, each of which focuses on the artistic contributions of one period in the history of the West, from Ancient Greece to the late 1980s. From the classical ideals in Greek and Roman antiquity, through the Renaissance, to the postmodernism of the late 1980s, the series provides a panorama of 2000 years of architecture, painting and sculpture, and studies the art masterpieces as reflections of the Western culture that produced them.

Episode 04 - The Age of Gothic

The origin of Gothic architecture as found in the choir of the Abbey Church of St. Denis and the Chartres Cathedral serves as a model of High Gothic style.

Related Links
Medieval art
The medieval art of the Western world covers a vast scope of time and place, over 1000 years of art in Europe, and at times the Middle East and North Africa.
Gothic art
Gothic art was a style of Medieval art that developed in France out of Romanesque art in the mid-12th century, led by the concurrent development of Gothic architecture.

Go to Art of the Western World Home or watch other episodes:

Episode 01 - The Legacy of Greece
Episode 02 - Imperial Stone - The Art of Rome
Episode 03 - A White Garment of Churches
Episode 04 - The Age of Gothic
Episode 05 - The Early Renaissance in Italy
Episode 06 - The Northern Renaissance
Episode 07 - Heroic Ambitions
Episode 08 - The Play of Light
Episode 09 - The Birth of Baroque
Episode 10 - Masters of Baroque
Episode 11 - The Age of Reason
Episode 12 - The Passionate Eye
Episode 13 - Painting the Modern World
Episode 14 - Distanced Creations
Episode 15 - Between Genius and Abyss
Episode 16 - Between Utopia and Crisis
Episode 17 - The Aftermath
Episode 18 - New, Newer, Newest