The Universe (Season 5)

The Universe is a History Channel documentary series exploring the wonders of the universe and the advanced physics concepts in the fields of cosmology, astronomy and astrophysics. The Universe (Season 5) consists of eight episodes, featuring wonders and mysteries of our solar system: 7 wonders of the solar system, the new evidence of life on Mars, magnetic storms created by sun, total eclipse, the grim future of the Sun, and time travel. The series features a mix of historical footage, photographs from space telescopes, and computer-generated graphics, as well as interviews with experts from universities and scientific institutions around the world.

Episode 1 - 7 Wonders of the Solar System

Episode 1 - 7 Wonders of the Solar System
A close up look at some of the most astonishing wonders of our solar system, such as the geysers of Enceladus; Saturn's amazing rings; Jupiter's Great Red Spot; and the heights of Olympus Mons on Mars.

Episode 2 - Mars: The New Evidence
A look for evidence of life on Mars which provides many clues that it now, or once had supported it, such as the remains of lakes and rivers and the seasonal changes in methane gases.

Episode 3 - Magnetic Storm
A look at magnetic storms - "Solar Katrinas" created by the sun with the power of ten-thousand nuclear weapons.

Episode 4 - Time Travel
A look at time travel; how it could one day become reality; how Einstein's theory of relativity claims it is possible, and the probable results of traveling to the future and the mind-boggling consequences of traveling to the past.

Episode 5 - Secrets of the Space Probes
A look at space probes, what they have done and found for us in space, and what they might do in the future, such as searching for Earth-like planets and for extraterrestrial life.

Episode 6 - Asteroid Attack
A look at asteroids and the impact they have or had on life now and before. Also, what spacecrafts can tell us about them, what they can do to civilization, and the possibility of living on one.

Episode 7 - Total Eclipse
A look at the movements of the Earth, the sun and the moon during solar and lunar eclipses.

Episode 8 - Dark Future of the Sun
A look at the grim future of the Sun and what might happen to it five billion years when it uses up its hydrogen fuel and swells into a massive red giant star, consuming our planet and killing all life.

Related Links
The Universe (Season 1)
A look at the sun, individual planets in the solar system, alien galaxies, the search for extra-terrestrial life, and scientific theories such as the Big Bang.
The Universe (Season 2)
Look at wonders and mysteries of the universe about alien planets, cosmic holes, supernovas, Nebulas, dark matter/dark energy, and star constellations, ...
The Universe (Season 3)
This series consists of twelve episodes, exploring space disasters, mysteries in our universe and wonders of the universe.
The Universe (Season 4)
Explore space disasters, mysteries in our universe - death stars, what the Earth would be like without the moon, supernova blasts, ten events that could destroy the planet Earth, and space wars.
The Universe (Season 6)
A look at catastrophes that changed the planets, the possibility of the existence of Nemesis, how the Solar System was made, and the technology needed to build ships to the stars.