The Universe (Season 1)

The Universe is a History Channel documentary series exploring the wonders of the universe and the advanced physics concepts in the fields of cosmology, astronomy and astrophysics. The Universe (Season 1) consists of fourteen episodes, looking at the sun, individual planets in the solar system, alien galaxies, the search for extra-terrestrial life, and scientific theories such as the Big Bang. The series features a mix of historical footage, photographs from space telescopes, and computer-generated graphics, as well as interviews with experts from universities and scientific institutions around the world.

Secrets of the Sun

Episode 01 - Secrets of the Sun
A look at how the sun was formed and how it could potentially die; its physical composition; how it makes energy; and the nature of solar eclipses, solar flares and sunspot activity.

Episode 02 - Mars: The Red Planet
A look at the planet Mars; an examination of Olympus Mons the largest volcano in the solar system; how NASA probes search for evidence of past life on the red planet; and what that life might have looked like.

Episode 03 - End of the Earth
A look at end of the world scenarios involving killer asteroid or comet impact events, solar flare and gamma-ray bursts, and the plans that scientists have to potentially save the Earth from an interstellar disaster.

Episode 04 - Jupiter: The Giant Planet
A look at the solar system's largest planet, Jupiter; its formation and composition and its mini-solar system of over 60 moons - some of which may have the potential to support extraterrestrial life.

Episode 05 - The Moon
A look at the formation of the Moon; how it played a role in the evolution of life on Earth; and the future plans of NASA to establish a permanent base on the surface.

Episode 06 - Spaceship Earth
A look at the planet Earth; how it was born out of a chaotic shooting gallery during the formation of the solar system; how life could have begun here; and what could ultimately cause its destruction.

Episode 07 - Mercury & Venus: The Inner Planets
A look at the two most hostile planets in the solar system - Mercury and Venus; one gouged with craters, the other a greenhouse cauldron of toxic gases and acid rain.

Episode 08 - Saturn: Lord of the Rings
A look at the planet Saturn and its fascinating rings; how they may have been created; how the latest probes have answered questions and revealed new mysteries about the planet.

Episode 09 - Alien Galaxies
A look at space through the amazing images of the Hubble Space Telescope; and a look at the formation of our galaxy and how it is just one of hundreds of billions in the universe.

Episode 10 - Life & Death of a Star
A look at stellar evolution; how gravity causes hydrogen gas to coalesce under friction and pressure to ignite in a flash of nuclear fusion, the energy and glow lasting billions of years.

Episode 11 - The Outer Planets
A look at the solar system's most distant worlds - Uranus and its wildly orbiting moon Triton; its near-twin Neptune and its moons; and finally, distant Pluto.

Episode 12 - Most Dangerous Places
A look at the most dangerous objects known in space - all consuming black holes, deadly gamma-ray bursts, powerful magnetars, and galactic collisions.

Episode 13 - Search for E.T.
A look at possible extraterrestrial life in the universe; the mission of organizations like SETI to find it, and the possibility of extraterrestrial life existing right in our own solar system on the moons of Europa and Titan.

Episode 14 - Beyond the Big Bang
A look back in time billions and billions of years to the origin of the Big Bang; how our knowledge about the origin of the universe has evolved.

Related Links
The Universe (Season 2)
Look at wonders and mysteries of the universe about alien planets, cosmic holes, supernovas, Nebulas, dark matter/dark energy, and star constellations, ...
The Universe (Season 3)
This series consists of twelve episodes, exploring space disasters, mysteries in our universe and wonders of the universe.
The Universe (Season 4)
Explore space disasters, mysteries in our universe - death stars, what the Earth would be like without the moon, supernova blasts, ten events that could destroy the planet Earth, and space wars.
The Universe (Season 5)
Series featuring wonders and mysteries of our solar system: 7 wonders of the solar system, the new evidence of life on Mars, magnetic storms created by sun, total eclipse, the grim future of the Sun, and time travel.
The Universe (Season 6)
A look at catastrophes that changed the planets, the possibility of the existence of Nemesis, how the Solar System was made, and the technology needed to build ships to the stars.